Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

All movies (current & past)

Baaram – BurdenBaaram – BurdenBaaram – Burden

By New Generations

On 06, Okt 2020 | In | By New Generations

Baaram – Burden

Sonntag 8. November, 17 Uhr im Orfeos Erben Frankfurt + Köln (tba) + Online

Als ein idealistischer junger Gewerkschafter den plötzlichen Tod eines Lieblingsonkels untersucht, sieht er sich mit der schrecklichen Praxis des Thalaikoothal, der Tötung gebrechlicher alter Menschen durch ihre eigenen Familien im ländlichen Tamil Nadu, konfrontiert. Der Film ist ein Drama, das auf wahren Begebenheiten beruht.

Der 64-jähriger Nachtwächter Karuppasamy lebt zusammen mit seiner Schwester und ihren drei Söhnen in einer Kleinstadt in Tamil Nadu. Am Rückweg von seiner Schicht bricht er sich bei einem Unfall mit Fahrerflucht die Hüfte.

Seine Neffen bringen Karuppasamy in das kleine Krankenhaus der Stadt, wo seine Hüfte sofort operiert werden soll. Doch Karuppasamys abweisender Sohn Senthil bringt seinen Vater in sein abgelegenes Heimatdorf: ein traditioneller Heiler soll ihn dort behandeln. Acht Tage später ist Karuppasamy tot.

Bei der Beerdigung hört Veera, einer der Neffen, zufällig, dass mit dem Tod seines Onkels etwas nicht stimmt. Veera kommt einem großen bösartigen sozialen System auf die Spur…

• Regie und Buch: Priya Krishnaswamy • Indien 2018 • 91 Min • Tamil mit engl. Untertiteln • Mit: R. Raju, Sugumar Shanmugam, SuPa Muthukumar, Sama Raja

Tickets und Festivalpass in Kürze

Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

All movies (current & past)

Baaram – BurdenBaaram – BurdenBaaram – Burden

By New Generations

On 06, Oct 2020 | In | By New Generations

Baaram – Burden

Online

When an idealistic young trade unionist investigates the sudden death of a favorite uncle, he comes face to face with the terrifying practice of Thalaikoothal, the killing of the infirm elderly by their own families in rural Tamil Nadu. The film is a drama based on true events.

Karuppasamy, a 64-year old night watchman, lives with his sister and her three sons in a small town in Tamil Nadu. While returning early in the morning from his shift, he breaks his hip in a hit-and-run accident.

His nephews take Karuppasamy to the small hospital in town to have a hip plate operation performed right away. However, Karuppasamy’s taciturn son, Senthil, takes him home to his remote village, saying that a traditional bone-setter will treat his father. Instead, eight days later, Karuppasamy is dead.

At the funeral, Veera, one of the nephews, overhears that something is wrong with Karuppasamy’s death. Veera discovers a large malevolent social entity behind his uncle’s death …

• Director and script: Priya Krishnaswamy • India 2018 • 91 Min • Tamil with English subtitles • Cast: R. Raju, Sugumar Shanmugam, SuPa Muthukumar, Sama Raja

Tickets will be available soon